Premed 101 Forums

Surgeons, Do You Care At All For Clinical Correlation Recommendations From Radiology?

Occasionally but usually not for me. Truth be told we are always clinically correlating radiological images/reports anyway and asking ourselves if the imaging makes sense given the clinical context.

I tend to treat it as a flag of the radiologist not being 100% sure in the diagnosis, which if the report is well dictated the radiologist makes clear anyway.

As a surgical resident my ideal imaging report would be:

1) Type of imaging including list of phases. IE: CT abdo with arterial, venous, portal venous, and non contrast

2) Indication for imaging: Why I, or whomever, asked for imaging. Ex: RO ACUTE APPY (in all caps)

3) Summary including all caps answer and or all caps incidental finding. Right at the very top, the very first thing, and yes 80% of the time no one will read the rest of the report hence the caps. Just pertinent positives and negatives.IE: NO EVIDENCE OF ACUTE APPY, normal bowel gas, no free air, no free fluid, INCIDENTAL 2MM R ADRENAL MASS.

4) Suggestions for follow up imaging or indicate that no other imaging would be useful: IE: This is not an ideal study to look for cholelithiasis, suggest abdominal U/S. Given body mass could also attempt PTC placement +/- cholangiogram with contrast. Suggest F/U CT for incidental pulmonary nodule in 6/12.