Premed 101 Forums

Should I Go Into Computer Science To Be Better Prepared For The Future Of Medicine?

Olle

It's quite apparent at this point that synthetic biology/genomics, bioinformatics, and genomic medicine will take over medicine...

And for that reason, I'm thinking of majoring in [CS & cell biology] or [CS & microbiology]. But because I'm in first year science I don't know what to expect... 

Should I focus on one aspect of the life sciences or should I incorporate CS?

Thanks.

Ummm I would say that isn't even close to remotely true and would suggest that you major in 1) something you can do well in 2) something you enjoy 3) something you can do for a back up career

Thanks! But what do you mean that it "isn't... remotely true"? As far as I understand synthetic biology & genomics is the future of medicine & biology?

1) TBH I donno if I can do well in cs b/c I have absolutely zero knowledge of cs atm.

2) Synthetic biology sounds interesting but I guess I can approach that through learning just biology...

3) Comp sci is definitely a good backup which was one of the reasons why I'm thinking of this field (I heard bioinformatics is near 100% employable with good pay)

and I'm scared that I'll be left with a 14$/hr job if I major in something biology related.

Thanks for the reply!

DON'T DO IT!!!

I tried to do this exact same thing in first year, bio-medical science + computer science at Guelph. Oh man was I naive.. it was a complete disaster lmao

My advice would be to pick one or the other (go with what you enjoy more), and focus on that! 

DON'T DO IT!!!

I tried to do this exact same thing in first year, bio-medical science + computer science at Guelph. Oh man was I naive.. it was a complete disaster lmao

My advice would be to pick one or the other (go with what you enjoy more), and focus on that! 

Thanks! Like you mean it was super difficult?

Thanks! Like you mean it was super difficult?

Very - and for no reason.