Premed 101 Forums

Pharmacist Applying To Medicine

Hi,

I'm a pharmacist working in Ontario and wish to apply for medicine (it was always the goal -- long story). I've been able to pay off loans and whatnot and now am ready to apply. My stats are: 

• UofT undergrad: 2.68
  • Pharmacy undergrad (completed in the UK): 3.36
  • MCAT: 506 (125/127/127/127) 
  • Quite extensive EC (sports, arts, dance, community work both within lower-income and new immigrants)
  • No publications/research completed as of yet

My gameplan is to do another UG and redo the MCAT. The next UG degree is actually something I'm interested in and was going to do if I didn't get into the pharmacy program in the UK. Anyways, I don't mind the long road (being financially stable and relatively young helps), and am interested to do a masters as well to strengthen my application. There will be research and a publication I will be participating in over the summer of 2017.

As for work, I'm working part-time/relief so I can devote all my time to my studies.

Just looking for any feedback, guidance, critiques, or suggestions for things that I may have overlooked.

Thanks for taking the time to read through this.

I did the pharm to Med switch, its pretty common. Shoot me a PM if you have other questions, but it was a few years ago back for me. 

It is doable but a long battle as you know having to tackle another undergrad. The sacrifice to family, time and energy is something you have to weigh whether it is worth it or not. If it was always your goal as you said, then go for it! I did the same and don't regret it.

Doing a 2nd undergrad would really only open up a small number of schools for you, but re-confirm this. Primarily western or queens,  unless there are other schools that only consider the most recent degree that would have a realistic number of seats for you.