Premed 101 Forums

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this website and this is my very first post here. 

I would just like to ask if anyone has taken a Gap year before they applied to Medical School (more specifically, the University of Manitoba).

I'm currently a sophomore student and my GPA is not very strong at the moment and I have yet to take the MCAT but I figured that I could just do it during my Gap year if I do decide to take it. I know that they do adjusted gpa but even if my gpa is adjusted, I am really not confident that it will be competitive enough... In fact, I think that by the time I graduate, I might just reach the bare minimum required. :(

I plan on taking two years off just so I can work, volunteer more, improve my CV and also help out my parents a bit. I really want to work on a hospital during my gap years with really any responsibility. I really am not picky.

What is the average age for people who goes to medical school and start their journey? I understand that it varies from school to school but I'm just really curious and kinda just want a rough "guess-timate"

And does anyone have any suggestions and advice on what else I should so during my gap year to help me stand out a little bit more? :confused:

Any help and advice would be greatly appreciated, Thank you all and Have a great day!  :)

Specifically for the UofM, I have heard the average age is around 22-24 when people get in. In terms of the gap year, the UofM doesn't look at extracurriculars or work experience when comparing students, in fact it's not even in the application. In an extension to that, the references are nothing more than a red flag check; they hold no weight.

In saying this, more experiences in whatever setting is useful in terms of having more to talk about during the interview, so do as much as you can and that you enjoy and don't worry too much about when you get in as long as it's something you want to do!