Premed 101 Forums

Pt Or Bachelor's Of Science

GV1998

Hi there, 

As I wait for Med-P replies, I need to confirm a back up. I got accepted to PT and a Bsc in physiology. Although, PT would look great and interests me more, I heard it's a little difficult to maintain a high GPA to later apply to Med. 

What are your thoughts? 

Thanks! 

Hi,

So PT is a Bachelors of Science. With this program you really need to max out your GPA within the first two years, as you can play with the courses you pick only in those first two years. I've heard from friends that a BSc in physiology is far from easy, as such, if you're looking for something that's in the faculty of science then I would go with Anatomy and cell bio instead. Keep in mind that as a PT student you are a student of the faculty of medicine and that gives you access to some opportunities you might not have as a faculty of science undergrad. I was a PT undergrad and got in at McGill this year - so it's definitely possible. Message me if you have more questions.