Premed 101 Forums

Hi there, I am a grade 11 honours/AP student who has a passion for sciences and medicine. Recently I've been browsing these forms and I've seen that this site is generally a good place to gain advice from former students about University and post graduate endeavours, so I thought, 'hey, why not give it a try'.

I am here to ask if anyone knows of any successful and fulfilling (financial and personally fulfilling) fields to go into after an undergraduate program such as Biomedical Sciences, Health Sciences and/or Biochemistry. I am also open to taking/planning on attending graduate school after undergrad if needed. I, of course, know that I can go to medical school and become a doctor (which in and of itself features a wide variety of specialities). However, I want to keep my options open. I really enjoy biology, chemistry and mathematics. I also love researching and working hands on in labs to find solutions to problems (so I looked into working in a hospital laboratory but the income wasn't too appealing). I just feel like the only medical career that will allow someone to be fulfilled (and financially successful), is a doctor [re-reading that statement I realize that it makes me seem very closed minded, which is why I need help]. Hopefully someone on here can shed some light on careers that are often over looked when choosing a career in Science and Medicine.

Thank you for your help.

There are a lot of jobs that you can do with a science degree. Most of them will require at least a little more training after undergraduate, though some you can enter straight from high school. Don't close yourself off to other healthcare professions aside from medicine (dentistry, PT, OT, chiropractics, optometry, nursing, respiratory therapy, med tech, speech and language pathology, etc.). There are also a lot of options in research related to healthcare and other science fields.