Premed 101 Forums

Finishing Undergraduate Degree

JKT

Hey guys, 

So this may be a silly question, but if I apply to medical school in fourth year (my undergraduate degree is five years) then does that mean that I won't be able to finish my undergraduate degree as I will be starting medical school in the upcoming year? Also, considering my degree is five years long, when do you suggest that I apply to medical school (I will be beginning my second year in the fall). 

Thanks

I was in this same boat as you. I enjoyed my undergrad and wanted to complete my bachelor's but my end goal was medicine. If you get an offer to medical school, it is specific to a specific school and a specific year, so you will have to withdraw from your undergraduate degree. you cannot be enrolled in medicine and another distinct program at the same time- the medical school will make you choose between your undergrad program and medicine. 

Schools can let you defer your admission, but not usually for the sake of getting your bachelor's. At the end of the day, there's a huge applicant pool for a limited amount of spots & if you're not dead-set on starting medical school, your spot will get passed over for someone who is. Also, I am not too sure if rejecting an offer holds any bearing on future application cycles. The schools will definitely know that you rejected their offer in the past, but whether this results in any prejudice is something I cannot confirm. 

3 hours ago, shankarpro said:

I was in this same boat as you. I enjoyed my undergrad and wanted to complete my bachelor's but my end goal was medicine. If you get an offer to medical school, it is specific to a specific school and a specific year, so you will have to withdraw from your undergraduate degree. you cannot be enrolled in medicine and another distinct program at the same time- the medical school will make you choose between your undergrad program and medicine.