Premed 101 Forums

Current Computer Engineering Undergraduate Student - Do I have a chance for medical school?

Hi all, I am currently an undergrad computer engineering student going into second year. During my first year, my GPA was 3.88 for the first half, but it dropped to 3.5 during the second half due to my health condition. I was unable to have a full course load during that time for the same reason. I am very interested in medical school, however, and I would like to take biomedical engineering for my minor during undergrad. For extracurricular activities, I am currently involved in three different clubs, but they are mostly academic/research oriented. I am also volunteering as an executive at a non-profit student organization, where we run programs at public libraries to teach children from underrepresented communities programming for free. 

I heard from other people that in order to meet academic prerequisites, I may need to take summer courses in chemistry and biology, given that computer engineering program at my school has a very full course load and I can not take them during fall/winter. During the next few years, I will also try my best to get involved in biomedical engineering related researches. But other than that, I am really lost right now, and do not know where to get started in order to plan for applying to med school. Specifically, I am very confused about a few things:

1) GPA. Given the current GPA I have earned during first year, the best I could do over the next three years would probably be bringing it back up to around 3.7~3.8. If that happens to be the case, do I still have a chance to get into medical school? Also, I am really worried about my not-full course load during the second semester of first year. Would that affect anything?

Also, I have heard that first year GPA is not always considered for medical school applications. Is that true?