Premed 101 Forums

Importance of motor skills?

47 minutes ago, Ostracized said:

What do you mean by 'lack of motor skills'?

I never had much in the way of fine motor skills hobbies.  My penmanship is atrocious and I cannot draw to save my life.  Still, I'm a passable dentist.

Well I know my motor skills are limited because I'm incapable of excelling at a few sports and my handwriting is somewhat bad. Because of this, my family is advising me that I should not go into dentistry due to their 'heavy emphasis on motor skills'. I was just wondering if this is true and if that would hold me back as a dentist lol

From what I have heard, it may be difficult for you for a few reasons. Obviously you want to take a path that suits your aptitude and if that is not fine motor skill you may be very very frustrated with dentistry. As well, I have known people who struggle greatly with the carving portion of the DAT and carve hundreds of soaps just to get a good mark- then they practice and get many needle stick injuries etc. One person had an injury and it affected his fine motor skills so he cannot practice but instead will do research or teaching. 

Definitely something to think about in my opinion. 

2 hours ago, qwerty2222 said:

From what I have heard, it may be difficult for you for a few reasons. Obviously you want to take a path that suits your aptitude and if that is not fine motor skill you may be very very frustrated with dentistry. As well, I have known people who struggle greatly with the carving portion of the DAT and carve hundreds of soaps just to get a good mark- then they practice and get many needle stick injuries etc. One person had an injury and it affected his fine motor skills so he cannot practice but instead will do research or teaching. 

Definitely something to think about in my opinion. 

Was this because of over practicing during clinic or from just soap carving? Can you even pass dental school if you develop such an injury??