Premed 101 Forums

Chartered Accountant - Questions

Hi All

First off thanks for reading this post.  I must admit I never thought I would be writing this post, much less thinking one day I may actually have a shot at going to med school.  I understand that some of the admission requirements at certain universities (no pre-reqs) and the MCAT itself has undergone some change in recent years.  I always wanted to pursue a degree in medicine but sold myself short in undergrad and convinced myself I wasn't smart enough.  Instead I got a bachelors of commerce from one of the big universities in Alberta (I am purposely not disclosing which one so I can keep my identity confidential as I will disclose other information later).  I graduated in 2012 with a 3.86 cumulative GPA and thereafter got a job at one of the Big 4 accounting firms where I achieved my chartered accountant (CA) designation.  By the time I actually apply to med school I will have my masters of taxation as well.  For job experience I currently hold an experienced manager position in the tax group of a Big 4 accounting firm.  

Obviously I have not written the MCAT however I plan to start teaching myself the material at night and over the course of the next 6-8 months prepare to write in July, 2018.  If respondents could humor me and assume I score in the 70th percentile on the exam would I even have a shot at the U of C?  Going to med school is something I always dreamed of but as previously stated always sold myself short on.  I have a family (a wife and 2 kids) and it would be a big undertaking for me to give this a shot.  I understand this is just an internet post and people don't know me from Adam but I wanted to get some opinions from others on what my shot would be, any insights into your own personal experiences or any advice one could give me.

Thanks in advance

BauerZ

12 minutes ago, BauerZ said:

Hi All