Premed 101 Forums

Hey guys, I'm hoping to get some advice from the community. I'm a final year student at a PT Masters program in Ontario. I wrote the PCE written exam in May, which I failed and I just found out I failed my second attempt at the written this past September. I was able to accept my first time failing as just a result of nerves and some dumb mistakes I made, but I studied really hard for this second exam in September and I genuinely feel shocked about failing it. I spent 2.5 months studying for it, poured over all of my school notes, lab manuals, past american exam that were circulating around the class, and any other resources I had. I just don't understand what's happening with me on the actual exam. I don't feel any severe anxiety, I remind myself to stay calm and carefully read the questions, I even saw a bunch of repeat questions in the September exam that were also on the May exam.

I've passed every course at school (lowest mark was a B+/high 70%), never failed anything, passed all my clinical placements with no complaints from my clinical instructors, and I've passed every practical exam on the first try. I just don't understand how I can pass my PT program with no issues, but suddenly struggle so hard on this written component that apparently first time Canadian students pass with a 90%+ success rate. I talked to one of my faculty advisors regarding my situation and she even backed me up saying she didn't think I ever showed any red flags throughout the program and that it shouldn't be an issue with knowledge and that she, too, didn't quite understand why I was struggling with the written exam.

Sorry for the rant, I'm just really feeling the pressure and frustration with back-to-back failures and I just feel like my whole PT career is in doubt before it even began. Does anyone have any sort of advice? I just don't know what the problem is and what I can do to solve it.

Hi sinica14,