Premed 101 Forums

First steps for a Canadian looking at US MD/DO schools

fremulon

I'm a 3rd year undergraduate student that applied this cycle to 4 universities in Ontario (Toronto Mac Ottawa Queens). I don't have a dual citizenship. I wish to practice in Canada eventually but beggers can't be choosers :/

Does anyone have experience applying to a US MD/DO schools from Canada?

Or any advice for how I should begin and the timeline of the process? I plan on applying US MD/DO next cycle (4th year) potentially.

Here's some stats (Yes I know they're high, but you guys know how much of a crapshoot it is. I've many friends with good applications that somehow didn't get in)

GPA: 4.0

MCAT: 132 129 132 132 (525)

SWOMEN

Wow that MCAT is delicious. I'm not applying to Ontario but it makes me so sad that people with stats like yours have to be so concerned about their chances. We live in tough times. What are the chances usually like for people like you? Are they really that bad?

I really hope you do get in somewhere this cycle, and I would assume you do have a very good shot! And even if it takes you a few tries to get in somewhere in Canada (which I don't think you'll need many of), perhaps that extra year or two are still more worth it than all the $$$$$ you'll be shelling out for going to the US.

But anyway, I don't really know what exactly you're looking for, but do know that many/most US schools function on a rolling basis, so it will in your interest to complete your applications ASAP (June-ish, don't wait until like late August).