Premed 101 Forums

failed lmcc part 2 by one point

Hi all

I am a Canadian family medicine resident. I found out I failed lmcc 2 by one point (pass is 509, i got 508). After the initial shock and disbelieve. I reached out to my program for support but they dont really have any other resources for me aside from the ones I used to prepare (Canada q bank, prev questions, practicing with fellow residents.) It is quite shocking to me because I thought the exam day went pretty well. I now feel very ashamed and unworthy. What makes this even worse is that I did the best I can to prepare. I started a month in advance. I did all the Canada q bank questions. I did previous exam questions. I practiced 3-4 times a week for a month with fellow residents. Non of which said I had performed poorly, quite the contrary even. So even if I were to take the test again I am not sure what I did wrong and what I can improve on. This is quite distressing, I am not sure what to do....

Same. Same. 504.

What are you going to do? What' tte ccances they'll change the mark? 

I had heard last year there was a huge reassessment of the marks and an email went out indicating a number of questions were removed, subsequently changing final marks. 

I'm praying that's the case this time. 

So disheartened. 

If your score is above 500 but not a passing mark I would definitely contest the score. There's always a chance that your marks will change. However, I wouldn't count on it. I know someone who scored a 507 or something, i.e., a fail, when I wrote part 2 and their score stayed the same. It's important to know where you think you could've done better or what topics need brushing up on. Part 2 is very geared towards generalist medicine and there seems to be an emphasis in interpersonal skills such as communication and empathy over the years as indicated by the marking scheme on their website.