Premed 101 Forums

apply to med in your thirties?

MDhopetobe

Yes - applied and was accepted in my late 30s...  I went back to UG for two years before I was accepted (first application cycle).  It definitely can be done - there are others who went back I know with kids, but clearly it means their hands are full.  I'd say it also depends on what's needed to be competitive - if it's limited to writing the MCAT, then it's feasible.  If it's necessary to go back to UG and leave a career to be competitive, then it might need to be weighed out a little more carefully in your situation.  For me, it's been overall a good decision, although I'm studying in a French environment as a non-francophone which has meant quite a bit of adjustment, to put it mildly.  There's a high level of debt that will need to be taken on, however the renumeration is such that it can be paid back, but it will definitely be a lifestyle adjustment in terms of being a student again.  It may mean working to a later age, or it will it in my case certainly.  It's a minimum 6 year training, up to 9-10 years, although residency is paid.  I suppose children never really worked out for me for various reasons and in my current situation there's no way I could handle a family, but possibly later.. 

In at 35 after going back for additional undergrad for a few years before being accepted. I've often reflected on whether I would do the whole thing again. It was a very, very difficult period of time. It was also a realistic possibility that I would never gain acceptance--getting into med school in Canada is quite difficult. I'm not sure I would undertake the process again, but I'm very happy to be in medicine. I love it just about every day. It does require a lot of sacrifice and the expectations are pretty unrealistic. Especially if you have a family already. I would just say, know what you're getting yourself into before taking the leap.