Premed 101 Forums

How many science courses are needed for med school?

JKT

I know that courses such as general bio and chem, organic chem, etc are needed, but how many science courses are needed in total. I am a health studies student and am trying to plan out my electives. Science isn't my strongest in university so I don't want to take courses if I don't need to. Also, from how my course schedule is looking, I will be taking a lot of science courses in third and fourth year, do you think this will be an issue when it comes to med schools looking at my GPA. As well, if I take courses during my summers, will that be looked down upon, especially if they're taken from a different university. 

Sorry I know I asked a lot of questions, thanks in advance!

You really don't "need" any science courses in Canada unless you're applying to McGill or Ottawa (these are the only schools that mandate orgo for example). Some schools (UBC, MUN) require a full year of English. Even if science isn't your thing, I STRONGLY recommend taking at least 2 terms of gen chem, at least 2 terms of intro bio (better if you can take physiology at some point) and at least 1 semester of biochem (you may need orgo to take biochem, FYI). They will really help you for the MCAT  But, they're technically not required to apply to 90% of Canadian schools....so ultimately it's your call. Honestly, undergrad science classes are not nearly as hard as they're made out to be as long as you have good study habits and don't take the "advanced" versions. 

40 minutes ago, jr2 said: