Premed 101 Forums

How to Choose Between Two Summer Opportunities and Turn Down the Supervisor of the Other One?

Back in January, I emailed a professor at U of T about doing research with him over the summer. Three weeks later (January 22nd), I still hadn't heard back from him, so I contacted a professor at my med school ("Doctor B") to do a 6-week clinical summer studentship with her. Doctor B immediately agreed to apply to the studentship with me, and helped me edit my personal statement. We sent out the application on Monday (February 12th).

Now comes the tricky part:  The U of T prof eventually replied to me and interviewed me last week. Today (Feb 15), he notified me that he would be willing to take me as a summer student, conditional on funding. So now I'm in a very tricky situation because:

1. Neither opportunities are certain, and I especially have no idea about how competitive the clinical studentship is (as a first-year med student I have very little relevant experience). If I turn down the U of T prof  and am unsuccessful with the clinical studentship, then I'll have nothing to do in the summer. 
  2. Both studentships are in the same subspecialty, but I would personally prefer the U of T position because it provides research experience and it's a 12 week program rather than 6-weeks. However, I'd feel very guilty if I get the clinical studentship but end up turning down Doctor B. For that program, each supervisor can submit a maximum of two applications, and I could be "wasting" one of her spots. Given that Doctor B is the head of her department at my med school, I'm afraid that I will be "black-listed" from the department in the future.

I realize that the situation could have been avoided if I had been more open with my communication with both supervisors, but unfortunately I hadn't because of all the uncertainty.