Premed 101 Forums

Ethical Question - MMI Scenario (Cultural Practices)

Butterfly_

You are a GP and a mother comes into your office with her child who has flu like symptoms. You notice bruises on the child’s torso and the mother tells you that it is a procedure called cao goo, to raise bad blood, improve circulation and healing. You touch the boy’s back with your stethoscope and he winces in pain. Should you call Child Protective Services and report the mother? When should a physician step in to stop a cultural practice? Should a physician be concerned about alienating the mother and people of her ethnicity from modern medicine?

Here’s my attempt at trying to answer the above. Any comments and advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!!

———————————————

I understand that as a physician, I have a duty to protect children from harm and to report child abuse. However, at the same time, I also need to respect another persons culture and ensure hat my actions don’t alienate people of certain ethnicities. In the scenario here,the mother voluntarily brought her child to the clinic knowing her child would be examined and was very forthcoming in her explanation. Also, the mother performed the procedure to improve the well-being of her child. Therefore, there seems to be no ill intention. 

To further investigate, I would speak to the child directly and ask about the bruises, whether or not he has had the procedure before as well as how he is feeling. If he says the bruises don’t bother him much and the procedure actually made him feel better than before and he has good rapport with his mother, then I would not call child protective services.

Howver, if the child appears to be afraid of his mother and is in a lot of pain from the procedure, then a call to Child Protective Services would be warranted.