Premed 101 Forums

How indicative is preclerkship performance in clerkship?

Hi. I am a first-year med student in a Canadian medical school. So basically, my school is P/F. And I am barely passing these examinations, like by 1-2 %. Yes I pass, and at the end of the day, all I need to do is pass, but I still want to perform well on these examinations. I am worried that my preclerkship performance, which is poor (barely passing) will translate into poor clerkship performance. I do understand that clerkship involves more than just clinical knowledge (i.e communication, collaboration, work ethic, being a good person, etc). But I am wondering if there is any correlation between clerkship and pre-clerkship performance on the wards. 

4 minutes ago, Lactic Folly said:

Have you determined where you are struggling? Difficulty with question format, memorization, clinical reasoning, lack of time to study, etc.? Good for you for working to address this early on. Is there advice/support from your school?

Hey I just have to get better at studying the management plan/treatment for a lot of the conditions. That seems to be my issue. I guess it is the clincial reasoning I should work on.

But do you have any comments regarding my question of Clerkship? Like how do they assess performance on clerkship.

If you are having difficulty coming up with a good management plan, then yes, that would cause concern as that is also one of the main competencies assessed in clerkship.

Clinical reasoning is a complex skill and not necessarily intuitive, but it can be broken down and taught. There are many resources out there for faculty on the topic of teaching clinical reasoning to medical students. If you are barely passing, hopefully your school would reach out to you to review how things are going, but you can also take initiative to request some tutorials in this area.