Premed 101 Forums

Hey everyone,

Just looking for some advice from upper year med students/residents. I'm in my second year of medical school, and did research last summer (a summer studentship) that resulted in publication of an abstract in a good quality journal and a poster presentation at a national conference (and a travel grant). I'm currently potentially interested in either internal medicine or family medicine. I was wondering how important it is to do research over this summer? (I also have some research experience from undergrad- I volunteered in a lab in third year and did a thesis in 4th year which resulted in a poster presentation at a provincial-wide conference and a podium presentation at a local conference. Both conferences were done outside the thesis course i.e. not a course requirement). Also, if it's important, I'm first author on everything mentioned above. 

I would rather not devote this summer to research since it's my last "real" summer before clerkship and was instead thinking that I'd prefer to be involved in research in some capacity over my third year and take the summer off to travel (and maybe do a couple of electives). Also, if you have any advice for how to get involved with research during the school year next year, that would be great too (like should I just email doctors who's research work I'm interested in, and see what happens?)

Any advice/insight would be appreciated.

Thank you!!

4 minutes ago, MD_2021 said:

You can do electives before clerkship?

At my school we have pre-clerkship electives. They are for 10 hours (or more if desired) and are often observerships, depending on the specialty (though I have had some where the doc wants us to see the patient on our own first). 

It's probably not critical to do research this coming summer, if you're not applying to a research-intensive residency. Doing some electives sounds like a good idea.