Premed 101 Forums

Critical Care / ICU workload and salary in community

Hi everyone,

Long time reader and first time poster here! Thanks so much  

Have a question about ICU in terms of outlook and workload. I am an IM resident who has not done any ICU rotations as yet. 

I have a friend who finished his and he had a long talk with his attendings and fellows before he left about career planning. He is now full blown ICU. 

They talked about community ICU in particular and the workload and salary. The basic points were:

-ICU weeks (7 days) pay about 25-30k a week 

-work consists of mainly rounding with a coffee and family meetings

-nights are spent at home while the GIM in the ER does the hard work

-pretty standard is to work 18-20 weeks a year of ICU and 12 weeks of base speciality (ie ER or GIM shifts). That’s almost 20 weeks a year off and a salary of about 600k!

I am not sure if this is real or just academic doctors that are saying the grass is greener on the otherside? If it is his sounds incredible. Lots of time off, incredible pay, no overhead and night work all done by someone else. Even days it sounds like lots of time to eat lunch  and have a coffee etc. 600k with 20 weeks off - sign me up!

I was was thinking of setting up a community ICU elective in the GTA is this is true - anyone have any suggestions if this is all true?

thanks

A few points to note

- most GTA community hospital ICUs are 15+ beds. That’s a lot of extremely sick patients to round on (I’m not sure if they have more than one icu attending on at a time though, I would assume no), plus day time admissions/consults, could end up being an extremely busy and tiring week (which is why they do 1 week on 3–4 weeks off). (Don’t think they have plenty of time to just chill around)

- From speaking with staff community icu guys, most do 12-16 weeks I think alongside their base specialty. (So potentially more time off) but I think most fill that time off with their base specialty