Premed 101 Forums

Province status when in residency?

I'm an Ontario resident moving for 2 years to Quebec for residency. My understanding is that since I will be a "trainee" at a University I can keep my status as a resident of Ontario and won't need to convert my Driver's license, car license plate, etc., etc. To Quebec.  Is this correct?

I do not believe that is correct. Living in Quebec, you must have a Quebec driver's license after 6 months. And should you end up in the hospital in Montreal, go explain you are living in Montreal but really your OHIP is valid. KISS is best approach, Keep It Simple Stupid. And speak to your insurer for your car and see what they say.  In Quebec, it is no fault, but with Ontario registration and you have an accident, you are making life unnecessarily complicated for yourself.

EDIT: You will be earning money in Quebec, will b e employed in Quebec and filing a provincial tax return in Quebec.

5 minutes ago, Bambi said:

I do not believe that is correct. Living in Quebec, you must have a Quebec driver's license after 6 months. And should you end up in the hospital in Montreal, go explain you are living in Montreal but really your OHIP is valid. KISS is best approach, Keep It Simple Stupid. And speak to your insurer for your car and see what they say.  In Quebec, it is no fault, but with Ontario registration and you have an accident, you are making life unnecessarily complicated for yourself.

EDIT: You will be earning money in Quebec, will b e employed in Quebec and filing a provincial tax return in Quebec.

Thanks for the reply. I thought the same thing but then I went here https://saaq.gouv.qc.ca/en/drivers-licences/foreign-drivers-licence/ and clicked "Foreign student or trainee (including individuals from another Canadian province or territory)

and it said: