Premed 101 Forums

No publications

Hello,

I'm a third year med student who is planning my electives for next year and thinking about CARMs apps. One thing that has me stressing a little is the fact that I have no publications in a medical journal during my medical school years (I only have one as a third author from undergrad). I only did two small summer research projects and presented a poster at only one university research conference for students (nothing major or high impact). I am interested in psych which I know tends to be on the non-competitive side but I'm wondering if this will hurt my application for more competitive places like say U of T or McGill. Any suggestions on how I can boost my app research wise this late in the game? Or do I still have a good chance at with excellent letters and personal statement? 

On 3/25/2018 at 1:35 PM, Heisencat said:

Hello,

I'm a third year med student who is planning my electives for next year and thinking about CARMs apps. One thing that has me stressing a little is the fact that I have no publications in a medical journal during my medical school years (I only have one as a third author from undergrad). I only did two small summer research projects and presented a poster at only one university research conference for students (nothing major or high impact). I am interested in psych which I know tends to be on the non-competitive side but I'm wondering if this will hurt my application for more competitive places like say U of T or McGill. Any suggestions on how I can boost my app research wise this late in the game? Or do I still have a good chance at with excellent letters and personal statement?