Premed 101 Forums

Is it bad to have a weak answer to why medicine?

anon5678

Hopefully, the rest of your interview went well, but yes it's not ideal to have a weak answer to this question. In future, this is a question that should show that you have thought a lot about why you want to do medicine and that there is a logical thought process behind it and maybe some sort of event that initially triggered your interest, and then that was further backed up by your education and extra curricular experiences. If the rest of your interview went well though, I think its unlikely that one question will significantly change the outcome of your interview. Good luck! 

18 hours ago, anon5678 said:

I had the question come up near the end of my panel when the assessors closed their question/grading books. I gave a kind of self-centered reason to this question. I talked about how I wanted to continue along / move up in the career trajectory I'm currently involved in since I graduated from  a B Sc. in biology and have worked in jobs related to healthcare, research, biomedical technology. It was probably a poor answer and the delivery also sucked. Is it really bad to have a weak answer to this question? I otherwise feel alright about the rest of the panel.

Yeah, definitely work on that answer, it is a question you will be asked over and over again and truthfully, it was difficult to come up with an answer before med myself, but when you do med, you get a better answer. 

For admissions though, it is important to have a good answer so think of a better reason if it doesn't work out this time around.