Premed 101 Forums

About the basic science Prerequisities

bigboydyo

Apologies if the answer to these questions could've been deduced online -- I read the McGill guidelines for the prereqs but I still struggle to find the answer for a few questions. Here's hoping that someone could help me out. For reference, I am a McGill Bsc student in U2.

1) As a CEGEP graduate, I will be applying on my 3rd (final) year with my 60 Uni credits as a basis for admission. I believe that I qualify for Option 2 (hopefully, because my CEGEP final year grades weren't the most competitive), however since I was exempted from both organic chemistry courses in McGill Uni due to having done them in CEGEP, what will they use to substitute/calculate my prereq GPA?

2) They said that a mammalian physiology course is needed for Option 2, and they suggested PHGY 209 -- however, is it possible to use my PHGY 210 as prereq instead, given that the courses pretty much follow each other and are both mandatory courses for Med-P year (meaning that they are actual prereqs for Med)? 

3) This might be a stretch, but as a substitute for molecular biology, is it possible to use BIOL 202 instead of BIOL 200? The nature of my two last questions (2 and 3) reflect the fact that I was extremely unmotivated and not serious in my 1st semester, however I did exceptionally well in every sequential semester, and I was hoping that I would have some level of selectivity for my prereq GPA calculation.

EDIT: Also, wanted to add that in CEGEP I did Health Sciences at Dawson, effectively covering every of the Basic science pre-requisites, I imagine.

Anyways, I appreciate any answers.

Option 2's organic chemistry MUST be taken in university. CEGEP-level organic chemistry can only count for Option 1. You might want to take it at McGill next fall if you want to use Option 2, as they allow for incomplete courses at the time of application if they will be completed by Jan. 15.