Premed 101 Forums

FM + 1 EM ... where to start

Vendar

Hello!!

I am pretty new to the whole CaRMS process and how everything works as a first year. I know some things about it, and I already had a chance to shadow and rule out a few specialties. I find that Family Medicine and Emergency medicine as an option that really appeals to me. Having my own clinical practice for 3-4 days, and then maybe 1 to 2 shifts as EM during the week to see different types of cases is a good fit for me. I am definitely more interested to stay more general than be super focused like dermatology or ophthalmology.

My question is if I want to do this 2+1 option, what should I do to have the best chances?

Do I focus most of my electives in FM? Or divide between FM and EM?
Should my research be focused on FM, FM + EM, or only EM?

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Thank you!

At a talk held by the EM interest group at our school, a couple FM +1 EM docs responded to the question of doing FM and part time EM. They both said that it probably wasn't a good idea because you'd be sacrificing your ability to perform in one or the other. i.e. doing 1 EM shift a week won't give you enough exposure to keep your skills sharp. EM requires you to stay sharp with various skills that you may very rarely use, and working a shift or two a week may mean you may not have the chance to use those skills until you have to, which by that point you may not be as confident/capable and can risk patient safety. Also it's unlikely that you will get your shifts scheduled whenever you please. You may finish a day in the clinic, have to work emerg over night and then do clinic again the next day. 

Likewise, cutting down FM hours to spend more time in emergency will make it harder for your FM patients to access you and will likely need to wait longer to get an appointment with you. This will limit patient accessibility to you.