Premed 101 Forums

Please help! How do I get from here to MD?

Hello everyone!

I've never posted on premed101 before so if this isn't the appropriate forum for this post, I'd appreciate it if a moderator could move this or tell me where it belongs (thanks in advance). I've been doing a lot of fly-on-the-wall reading here for some time now trying to get tips and perspectives that might help me achieve my goals. However, I've been unable to find anything even really similar to the situation I'm in when looking through other posts, as it seems I am an exceptionally unique case.

I am desperate to pursue medicine (strongly prefer MD), but I'm finding myself stuck in a fairly deep hole between a rock and a hard place. I would be incredibly grateful if anyone has recommendations on how I can get from here to a career in medicine (mainly past the medical school admissions hurdle), given the following information:

I am an Ontario resident approximately 25 years old (white male; Canadian; no knowledge of any native ancestry). I began my 6-year undergraduate journey in BSc Kinesiology at Western for 3 years, then transferred to McMaster for various reasons (into BSc Hons Life Sciences) and have just completed the courses required to graduate. Importantly, I took reduced course loads during the Fall/Winter semesters to accommodate 6 years of varsity athletics due to the extreme time commitments (ranging from 20-60+ hours a week depending on the time of year), not realizing or appreciating the detrimental impacts of these decisions. Moreover, I was a foolish student in my early years of undergrad as I lacked direction (medical school was not one of my primary considerations in my first 3 years) and some of the motivation that comes with it... I am not one of the people that decided on a future in medicine at an early age, but rather one that has developed a passion for it recently as a result of increased exposure to clinical settings and experiences (largely as a consequence