Premed 101 Forums

UofT life sci vs. Queens life sci vs. Western health sci

Choices  

23 members have voted

1. 1. Which one to pick

• Queens Life Sci
    • UofT Life Sci
    • Western Health Sci

In a previous discussion with a friend - if you are just trying to maximize your GPA I heard Western Health Sci is good.

But do not let that be the only factor. A person does better where they are comfortable and have support. If you family and friends are in Queen or Toronto, you will be able to find success in both schools

16 hours ago, KingKunta_chickenwings said:

I graduated Western Health sci and I don't know if I'd recommend it. There are parts of the program that both helped me be successful this application cycle, but parts of the program also made it challenging. 

3rd and 4th year assessments are primarily group projects/presentations/essays/community field work. While these will really beef up your "soft skills", help a lot with all sorts of interview types and give you some neat experiences to add to your CV, it's not going to do your gpa any favors. Marking these things are crazy subjective and breaking a 90+ (4.0) is almost impossible. Breaking an 80+ (3.7) is no sweat, and 85+(3.9) needs considerable effort. But if you're aiming for that 4.0 then I wouldn't really expect it. However there are communication science and rehabilitation science courses health sci students can take for credit during these years and 90+ is easily attainable in these courses. They are essentially science courses but are very clinical and have a more typical evaluation structure. Assignments and presentations in these class are marked more objectively so getting higher grades is easier.