Premed 101 Forums

Are Residents in Canada Overworked and Underpaid?

First time posting here!

My name is Donavan, I'm a first year resident and I recently started a YouTube channel about residency and medicine! I made a video talking about how much Canadian residents' are paid, and estimated the amount of weekly hours typically worked (which vary a lot depending on the specialty). There are no deep secrets here, but one thing that I learned being a resident is that the extra money on-call does add quite a bit to the total.  I wanted to stay objective - in no way am I personally complaining or bragging - but I did include my thoughts at the end of the video. 

Would love to hear if you have any thoughts, questions or feedback!

Considering how much money we stand to make once we're through to the other side, how much we get paid as residents is irrelevant. We also have the option of going into more debt if your salary isn't enough for your lifestyle. Everything we do up until we make consultant money serves to get us there and if it takes a lot without pay, so be it. It's all more than worth it once you're there. As long as you have the means to support yourself (ie LOCs) up until you make real money, you should be happy.

You could argue that you don't want to have to dip into your LOCs. I would argue that having that pressure to live with a smaller income isn't necessarily a bad thing, because most spend what they make, if not more. There's such a thing as 'living like a resident' when consultants talk about strategies to save.

Also, say we do get a significant raise. That won't come without consequences. There's one big pot that we all draw from. That raise will catch up to all of us sooner or later.

I say look at the big picture and consider what you'd be making 10 to 20 years down the line. Be happy that you're in a position that tens, if not hundreds of thousands of people would kill to be in, which is getting harder and harder to attain by the year.