Premed 101 Forums

Should I fight for marks??

I don’t like to downtalk TA’s but I honestly feel like the majority don’t want us to do well or simply don’t care. In organic chemistry I got a 97 on the midterm; but for my prelab quizzes I got 60 on one; and 40 on the other. She has no explanation just simple 0’s out of 3 and  I’m confused about this because I did know what I was talking about: I didn’t go into the lab upreprared. I studied and everything so I don’t even know why it’s wrong; like some of my answers are word for word out of the lab manual. I have this problem where I’m too scared to fight for marks; so should I just get over it and fight for marks? Or do other premeds not generally do this. I just am tired of things like labs bringing down my overall mark which is exactly what happened last year. I email my TA’s and ask for help and go to their office and everything; and they always take forever to respond or seem annoyed with the questions, it’s discouraging.

Speak to the TA and ask why you're losing marks. If they refuse to answer or you believe their marking is unfair, go speak to the prof.  I understand where you're coming from in your frustration, but TAs (at my institution at least) don't take marks off, let alone give you a flat 0 on a question for no good reason.  Also don't take their late answers to your email personally, they're busy people !

Good luck !

they usually have an obligation to entertain demands for revisiting/explaining marks for a quiz/lab report, etc. Meaning that they can't choose to avoid you. If you approach them in a level-headed manner and discuss the correction (ex.: ask them why did u get a mistake. If you feel like its still unjustified, show them how u came to the answer, ex. by using a textbook, because sometimes they may not be aware of the different possible answers), there will be no problem.