Premed 101 Forums

Courses taken after 120 credit ( 5th year)

Hi,

Does anyone know how will Ottawa med school look at someone who has already done 120 credit without graduating and who adds a minor to complete a 5th year. It is not to boost my gpa , but it is because I was a part-time student during my first two years so since I am now in my fourth year, I am thinking to add a 5th year to make my 3 th, 4th and 5 th year for uottawa. 

Does anyone has a success story by doing extra classes that won't give you credit for your degree?

Is it better to do a second UG ?

• 3 weeks later...
  • 4 weeks later...
On 11/22/2018 at 3:22 PM, CardiacArrhythmia said:

yes that is correct, if you are looking to do a 5th year, you need to postpone graduation for that 5th year to count. 

45 minutes ago, PREMED 202 said:

so if I understand , when you do more credits without changing programs and not graduating as long as you have 5 courses a semester, it should be fine?

UWO allows students to complete a fifth year.

11 hours ago, PREMED 202 said:

so if I understand , when you do more credits without changing programs and not graduating as long as you have 5 courses a semester, it should be fine?

Yes that is correct.

10 hours ago, Average Joe said:

Westerns will count an additional 1 year post-grad (aka the “special” year) - however if OP does this, that 5th year won’t count for Ottawa.

On 12/21/2018 at 12:01 AM, Average Joe said:

I am always a bit picky about that wording :) UWO allows you do a number of years beyond your 4th year while you are completing a degree. It allows only one special year post graduation. I know a bit wordy and so one but I have had people get rather confused by that as what you can take to count for their GPA calculation is different in a 5th year vs a special year. 

8 hours ago, PREMED 202 said:

so is it better not to do uncredited courses and register in another program than doing extra course while staying in the same program?