Premed 101 Forums

Canadian applying to med school with average stats. Best course of action?

Hey all,

I graduated a few years back with a degree in engineering and spent a bit of time working, travelling and taking masters courses (for an M. Eng degree). Over these past 2 years I have decided to switch careers and go into medicine. Med schools in Canada are terribly competitive and my GPA is not up to par (though no terrible). Even worse, I have a decreasing trend in my GPA due to a poor attitude (who cares about GPA in engineering if you got a good job?) and some sleep problems at the time . My stats are as follows:

CGPA: 3.5ish (depends on how the school calculates)

MCAT: 514 (128/130/128/128), (willing to retake, I was terribly sick, didn't finish a section and fell asleep...)

ECs:

-Volunteered in a hospital for 2 years and was able to shadow some doctors

-Started a business 5 years ago (still running) which allowed me to pay for school

-Was on the executive committee of many student chapters

-Was involved in lots of sporting teams

- I am also planning on spending 6 months in south america to volunteer & learn Spanish and 6 months in Asia to teach English.

What I am looking for is some suggestions on what I should do to be accepted into a medical school.  Obviously improving my GPA would help a lot but how would I be able to make a significant dent without having to do something as drastic as a second undergrad? I am also willing to consider American schools assuming I can meet their cut offs for Canadian students. Any thoughts on the most effective route (extra year, research, rewrite MCAT, apply anyways etcs...) ? I appreciate any suggestions!

Your GPA is your enemy here.   It is not sufficient to achieve an interview in Canada. Your MCAT is fine for most schools.