Premed 101 Forums

Alberta IP vs BC IP

I am a BC resident and I have done 2 years of undergrad (science) at a small rural college in BC. Because the college doesn't offer full degrees I have to transfer to get my Bsc. I am looking to tranfer to UAlberta for a few reasons including low cost of living and specific extracurricular opportunities. After 2 years in AB (and my degree is finished) I will have IP status for both UofC and UofA. The downside is that I will lose my BC IP status...

What is the general consensus on whether being Alberta IP is considered "better" than BC IP? Like I said, Alberta IP status is not the only or primary reason I am moving, but I want to make sure that I am not making a big mistake in terms of comparing BC IP to Alberta IP.

18 hours ago, BCelectrophile said:

I am a BC resident and I have done 2 years of undergrad (science) at a small rural college in BC. Because the college doesn't offer full degrees I have to transfer to get my Bsc. I am looking to tranfer to UAlberta for a few reasons including low cost of living and specific extracurricular opportunities. After 2 years in AB (and my degree is finished) I will have IP status for both UofC and UofA. The downside is that I will lose my BC IP status...

What is the general consensus on whether being Alberta IP is considered "better" than BC IP? Like I said, Alberta IP status is not the only or primary reason I am moving, but I want to make sure that I am not making a big mistake in terms of comparing BC IP to Alberta IP.