Premed 101 Forums

Can you suggest specialties for me to shadow?

I'm a first year med student and I'm not sure which speciality would be a good fit for me. Here are few things about me: 

- I really enjoy building relationships with patients and helping them out as much as I can. I want to have long-term relationships with patients and see them recover/get better.

- I want to be part of the recovery/healing process  and I want to be able to see the results of my work.

- I appreciate listening to patients' stories and their perspective on things.

- I enjoy laying out options to patients and guiding them with decision making

- I enjoy fast paced environments and like to be kept busy most of the time during my work periods.

- I also appreciate time off and would like to maintain work life balance, in case I've family in future.

- although, I don't have much of research background, I really enjoy research and would describe myself as a scholarly person.

- I'm not really interested in family medicine, because I don't like  being a generalist,  and I'd prefer to be an expert in a specific field.

Can someone suggest specialties for me to shadow?

1 minute ago, Aetherus said:

What’s missing here is if you like surgery vs medicine. You can find specialties in both that will meet your stated requirements. 

I have been in the OR and I don't mind it, but I'm not sure if I like standing for 4-5 hours during long surgeries.

6 minutes ago, Lactic Folly said:

Shadow everything that you can, even if you don't feel like it's a strong consideration, so that your decision making can be grounded in more firsthand experience. To me, fast-paced environment and listening to patients' stories are a little at odds with each other.

By fast paced, I mean I want to be able to interact with many patients per day.

I like seeing pts for a longer time, but I want to see lots of patients per day.