Premed 101 Forums

Taking courses at Athabasca to strengthen GPA for McMaster.. Thoughts???

TheOne

Hey guys,

I completed my undergraduate degree at Western (graduated last year). I am hoping to improve my cGPA (3.83) for McMaster. I was thinking of taking a few courses at Athabasca University. 

It is my understanding that McMaster WILL count courses completed AFTER a student has graduated so long as they appear on an undergraduate transcript. Is this correct? Can you see any reasons why this would be a bad decision?

I am terrified that I will pay for (and complete) courses at Athabasca only to learn that McMaster doesn't recognize them after all..

Thanks a bunch!

1 hour ago, TheOne said:

Hey guys,

I completed my undergraduate degree at Western (graduated last year). I am hoping to improve my cGPA (3.83) for McMaster. I was thinking of taking a few courses at Athabasca University. 

It is my understanding that McMaster WILL count courses completed AFTER a student has graduated so long as they appear on an undergraduate transcript. Is this correct? Can you see any reasons why this would be a bad decision?

I am terrified that I will pay for (and complete) courses at Athabasca only to learn that McMaster doesn't recognize them after all..

Thanks a bunch!

If money is not an issue go for it. If it is then I honestly don't think it's worth it.

12 hours ago, DNM said:

It'll count. It's just an inefficient way of making yourself more competitive. You'll get like a 0.04 boost of cgpa for a year worth of A+s. 1 casper prompt could probably offset that. 

I wasn't going to bother until I realized that the average GPA of students who were accepted this year was 3.87 :( so I am way below

12 hours ago, Meridian said:

Really not worth the effort. Do the math.  You will need 3 courses with 4.0 GPA in each just to move from 3.83 to 3.84 for MAC.