Premed 101 Forums

In desperate need of advice

Hello all!

Unfortunately, my situation is pretty complicated but I'll try to keep it concise. 

I am 21 years old, 22 in February. I have spent the past 4 years essentially taking university courses and either receiving poor grades (4 bad grades) or dropping courses. Growing up I was a high-level hockey player, and I had to stop playing due to a heart condition. I stopped playing officially when I was 19 and I have spent the past three years very lost and not sure what to do. I have wasted years of university, dropping and giving a poor effort to my courses. Though, through this whole painful process, I have realized I want to pursue medicine; more specifically cardiology.

I have dropped my courses for the rest of the year and have gained acceptance to a health science program at Ottawa U to begin this coming September. I know I am academically capable of succeeding as I was a 94+ student in high school.

With all of this, I am wondering whether my messy transcript and 4 poor grades have completely ruined my chances for medical school at Ottawa U?

My plan is to begin my UG in Sept and do well for the next 2-3 years and apply. I have also begun volunteering and doing research whatever. Even if I do manage 2/3 full time UG years at 3.9+, have I lost my shot?

Any insight into my situation would be fantastic.

Thanks so much.