Premed 101 Forums

1st year Queen's PT student here to help

Hey all,

I know it's that time of year where the application deadline is nearing, and how stressful the process can be. I'm a 1st year Queen's PT student that has been through that process more than once, and this forum was really helpful when I was applying. If you have any questions regarding the application/admissions process, the Queen's PT program, Queen's university or just Kingston in general, I'll do my best to help! I also applied abroad last year, so I have some experience with that process too. Feel free to ask here or via PM; I'm more than happy to help.

A 2nd year student here has also started a page with "day in the life as a PT student" videos, and helpful tips for applying to Canadian PT schools (GPA calculations, references, etc). You can check those out at "The Canadian Physio Student" on youtube or @cdnphysiostudent on instagram.

Cheers.

Hey Crew of magnificent helpers,

I have some questions about the written components now for UBC, Queens and Western. I'm a mature student at 30 and have a variety of life experience I feel applicable, I just am uncertain about the best ways of communicating them in the short written components. Here are my questions to you great humans:

UBC: Do you believe that there is any competitive advantage to applying to the northern rural cohort, does anybody have any experience with the GPA around this? Also, what did you write about for your learning experience? what was your entry competitive GPA?

Western: How much time did you dedicate to each component of the question. What do you believe to be the most important components and what did you find was the best way of attacking it? What was your entrance GPA?

1. Explain why you have chosen Physical Therapy as a career demonstrating your knowledge of the profession and its scope of practice.

2. Explain why you have chosen the Master of Physical Therapy (MPT) Program at Western University.