Premed 101 Forums

To anyone who is struggling with their dreams of becoming a doctor

I want you guys to know that you’re going to make it. I am a current second-year medical student and I’ve been reading a lot of the posts on here about struggling with school  and grades. I notice a lot of you guys are obviously and understandably concerned and scared about your future. And I completely understand that many of you guys are feeling, at times, helpless, as though there is not going to be a light at the end of this tunnel.  I’m here to tell you guys that there is. Getting into medical school is an accomplishment. It takes hard work, it takes a lot of grit, and most importantly it takes a lot of desire because this field is going to take a lot from you. That’s why it’s so difficult to get into medical school. Just because you guys might be struggling right now doesn’t mean you won’t succeed in the long run.

I promise you, everyone  Who has become a physician  has felt what you were feeling at some point or another. Even I felt that when I was in undergrad. I always wondered if I would get in, if I was good enough, and if I even had a chance because I was constantly comparing myself to my competition. The thing is, it’s really easy to get discouraged especially want to comes to being a premed.  if you only compare yourself to others, you’ll never win. You need to compare yourself to you.  You need to improve yourself. One thing that helps is telling yourself you will get in!  I constantly questioned myself but I always told myself I would make it. Even when I was at my lowest point, I tried my best to remind myself to push through it because I would succeed! It was hard but it was necessary.