Premed 101 Forums

Doing residency in USA on J1 visa being a Canadian Permanent Resident

Hello Everyone,

I am a permanent resident of Canada, having a valid PR Card. I am an International Medical Graduate (IMG) and also ECFMG Certified candidate and applied for the Residency in Pathology (Postgraduate medical training) in the USA. If I get the residency I will go to the USA on a J1 visa for the four years – duration of my residency training. For the J1 visa of the USA, one requirement is Statement of Need document which is provided by Health Canada, and Health Canada confirmed that they will provide me Statement of Need.

My questions are –

1.       What will happen to my Canada PR, because I will not be able to complete 2 years stay in five years duration?

2.       Will I be able to return to Canada after my residency training in the USA?

3.       My family (wife and daughter) is eligible to get J1 dependent (J2) visa; they want to join me in the USA. What will happen to their Canada PR?

Your opinion matters a lot to me, in deciding my future career goal. Looking forward to your swift response.

Thank you.

On 2/23/2019 at 2:25 PM, dreamforpath said:

Hello Everyone,

I am a permanent resident of Canada, having a valid PR Card. I am an International Medical Graduate (IMG) and also ECFMG Certified candidate and applied for the Residency in Pathology (Postgraduate medical training) in the USA. If I get the residency I will go to the USA on a J1 visa for the four years – duration of my residency training. For the J1 visa of the USA, one requirement is Statement of Need document which is provided by Health Canada, and Health Canada confirmed that they will provide me Statement of Need.

My questions are –

1.       What will happen to my Canada PR, because I will not be able to complete 2 years stay in five years duration?

2.       Will I be able to return to Canada after my residency training in the USA?