Premed 101 Forums

Extremely embarrassed to be asking this question but would really appreciate the advice

Hi everyone! 

Created this account just because I'm too embarrassed to be posting this on my usual one.

I recently received an offer for medical school and I'm extremely grateful for it. I've also come to learn that quite a few students from my middle school and high school have also been accepted. The class I've been accepted into is extremely small.

During my middle school and high school years, I was bullied by these very same people. I was an outcast and it was horrible. To be quite honest, the experience has had a huge impact on me. When I graduated, I knew for a fact I wanted to move out of the province for a new start. Things have been great for my undergrad! Lots of friends and just genuinely being happy. 

Now that I know I will be with these students again, I'm terrified. I'm terrified of being an outcast again. I do not want to spend 4 years of medical school not having people in my program that I can turn to, especially ones going through the exact same experiences as me. 

It's been to the point where I seriously considered declining the offer because of how I feel. however, I feel like this would be the stupidest decision given how badly I want to pursue a career in medicine and how hard I have worked for it. 

I know for some this might sound like such an immature case, but the negative impact those high school and middle school days have had on me has stayed with me. The premed101 community has always been supportive and given great advice. I'm really just asking for some advice or even just someone to listen. :(