Premed 101 Forums

Dental Program Admission Chances

Hello!

I'm VERY interested in applying for the DMD program at UBC and have a few questions about admissions.

A bit of background on me...  I completed an undergrad degree in Business with a 3.2 GPA. I have yet to take the pre-reqs for the DMD program at UBC, as well as write the DAT and CASPER test before applying for the program. After my experiences I realized that dental is what I want to do and I'm aiming to complete the pre-reqs with good grades and complete the DAT and CASPER with high marks.

I'm afraid that with my 3.2 undergrad GPA I have no chances of getting into the program at UBC but I'm hoping that the pre-reqs and DAT turn that around. 

I'm wondering if UBC assess the pre-reqs for the program over the undergrad degree? And how much weight GPA truly has on your application? 

I have some extra curriculars related to my undergrad but none for dental. Would it be a good idea to have some dental extra cirrculars for when I apply? 

Please help! What are my chances of getting accepted? Is there any possibility at all? 

Thanks so much!

You can find the admission stats for previous years on UBC's website. There are two steps to the admission process. For the first part they look at your GPA, DAT and CASPer scores. If you're competitive enough you get an interview. After the interview only your interview score if looked at and if you do well, you're in. Extracurriculars aren't considered at any point of the admissions process. They can be useful to incorporate into your answers during the interview if you get one but it's not necessary.