Premed 101 Forums

low GPA lost hope

Hi everyone, 

I'm in my third year of university and realized I have committed way too much outside of academics to make myself a better applicant and this really impacted my marks this year. I am a president of club, managed 2-3 research projects (expecting at least one publication), volunteer at a local school and am an exec of another club, I also attend many hackathons/competitions. All of what I did, I thoroughly enjoyed and gained so much from that has really developed me as a person but sadly my grades suffered.  I really needed to do really well this year since my grades have not been the best first and second year. At this rate, I am expecting a cGPA of around 3.65 and have lost hope to apply to schools next year. 

Do you think I still have a shot or has anyone been in a similar situation and has still been accepted to med schools?

If not, what can I do now to improve my chances? 

Thanks in advance

Hey, sorry to hear you're feeling down about grades, it's so tough to balance ECs vs academics so I can definitely relate. Could you post your year-by-year GPA? Some schools only look at your best two years (e.g. Queens), and Ottawa looks at your most recent three years with the more recent years being more heavily weighted. You still have 4th year to get a high single-year GPA which will help a lot for Queens and a decent amount for Ottawa. Lastly, McMaster doesn't rely on grades too heavily; just 33% of interview invite score and 15% of post-interview score. Try to keep your head up, and if the stress really has you down try to clear your head (meet up with friends, take a nap, play video games, whatever)- most problems are resolvable and it can be easier to see that with a fresh mindset!