Premed 101 Forums

Research for CaRMS application for competitive specialties

Hi everyone,

I'm a second year med student and I'm interested in a quite competitive speciality, ( not surgical)  and I've made several connections in my field of interest and I'm currently involved in the publication of  4 papers in my field of interest and 3 others in a different field.  I have no publications prior to med school.  My publications will  mostly  be systematic reviews  and retrospective studies. I've not done any case reports yet.   Although I will have few publications before Carms, I don't think I would be able to compete with applicants who have had Phds prior to med school and I was wondering if I should pursue a Phd prior  Carms to improve my chances if I'm set on a competitive specialty?

I feel that I'm hard working student but I was admitted to medicine before I had a chance to pursue a Phd, and I'm worried that this may make me a less competitive applicant when going through Carms when compared to older med students who have had a chance to pursue Phds.

The reason I ask this is because I know another person in my med school who is quite interested in my field of interest and she is 18 years older than me and has had 1 Phds and 2 Msc degrees prior to getting into medicine and has had more publications than I do. 

Will pursuing Phd prior to medicine make me a more competitive applicant? 

Most medical students do not have PhDs before starting med school. Most medical students still match into competitive specialties, both surgical and non-surgical. If not having a PhD significantly decreases your chances of matching to a competitive specialty, then I'm pretty sure about 75% of current med students would be in trouble.

CARMS result is part of work and part of luck.