Premed 101 Forums

Picking the best route

Hello! I'm considering pursuing a career in dentistry and I'm trying to figure out the best/fastest way to get there.

A bit of background info:

I graduated from a business program with a major in finance and have been working as an accountant in the entertainment industry for approximately 4 years now.  I have no idea what has drawn me to dentistry but I haven't been able to stop thinking about it for the last year or so.  I've done a ton a research to make sure that this is the right step for me, and I think I'm ready to pull the trigger on this.

Academically here's where I stand:

I don't have my pre-requisite courses, and my graduating GPA from finance was a measly 2.97.  I've passed the first two out of three CFA exams if that make any difference at all.  I know I'll have to get better grades going forward, but I'd be going all in by going down this path and failure is not an option.

From what I've read my choices are to either do a bachelors in a health based program or to do a masters, and then to demolish the DAT followed by applying to every dentistry school under the sun.

What are your thoughts?  I'd love to hear anything and everything you all have to share.

21 minutes ago, Chaxon said:

Gpa matters a lot in Canada. If you wanna save time just finish Pre-reqs online and go to Australia, Ireland or USA. That way you can work and still have money coming in while finishing your pre reqs.

They are not getting into the USA with a 2.97gpa