Premed 101 Forums

Psychiatry residency – Curriculum differences between universities

I was wondering if there was a big difference between how psychiatry was taught across the country.

When visiting SDN I found that in the US some schools seem to have a more ‘’biological’’ approach while others are strong on psychotherapy. Is it similar here in Canada?

I have a degree in neuroscience/neurobiology (+ multiple psychology courses) so I feel psychiatry is a logical choice for me, however I’ve started to doubt this during my psych rotation.

I have always been very interested in the neurobiology of psychiatric disorders this doesn’t mean that I don’t see a value in psychotherapy but that for me a psychological model needs a solid neurobiological plausibility.

During my psychiatry rotation we had a presentation on personality disorders. When explaining how a patient with BPD interiorizes trauma the psychiatrist used a psychodynamic model that to me was pure speculation. When I contested this ‘’model’’ he told me that there is some knowledge that can’t be obtained empirically/scientifically and that we have to take his word for it…. Seriously?

Is this a constant around the country? Is contemporary Canadian psychiatry really this disconnected from modern research?

A US psychiatrist suggested me to look into the NNCI (https://www.nncionline.org/). Is there something similar here in Canada?

Thank you for your help