Premed 101 Forums

Next steps

Hello!

Was just looking to see if anyone could advise me on next steps for my situation. I graduated with an Honours Bachelor of Science in 2018 from an Ontario university, and have been focusing on building my ECs since graduation.

Here are my stats:

1st year - 2.9

2nd year - 3.0

3rd year - 3.9

4th year - 3.9

MCAT - 514 (128 CARS)

I was diagnosed with ADHD in the summer following my second year, treatment helped me score well on the MCAT and in my courses in my last two years.

I would like to go to Med School in Ontario, but I am open to other options.

Currently, I am not sure whether to pursue a:

Master’s degree (I would prefer to study Global Health or something related to ADHD)

Second undergrad (in something more employable than a HBSc, hopefully beginning in 3rd/4th year while allowing me to get a 4.0)

Or continuing to stay out of school, volunteering and working

Can anyone give me some advice?

Great 3rd and 4th year! :) 

I saw from your previous posts that your cGPA won't help for McMaster and wGPA won't help for Toronto or Ottawa. So right now in Ontario your best shots are Queen's and Western. The thing that sucks about these schools now is how potentially subjective ECs can be. Even with good stats and seemingly well-rounded ECs many people do not receive interviews. 

If you want to go to med school in Ontario, then opening up Ottawa would probably be the next easiest thing to do to boost your chances. One more year of school could boost your wGPA to a competitive level there. Second undergrads that are more employable include things like nursing (2 year accelerated), social work (1-2 years), and occupational health and safety (2 years) for people who have completed degrees.