Premed 101 Forums

Where to go from here? :(

Hi there I am really struggling right now in the harsh reality that I am not competitive for medicine. I have heard people with much better stats not get in and albeit I have 1 more year to go; I do not think there is that much recovery I can do at this point. 

I am in my fourth year of undergrad.

I am IP for Ontario (lucky me) 

First year GPA: 77% : omsas- 3.2 (it's more like 3.25 but I think they just do it to one decimal) ; 

Second Year: 80%: omsas- 3.4 - same scenario 

Third Year: 88%, omsas- 3.8

MCAT; I have nothing to be proud of : my CARS is horrible ; will rewrite.

127/125/127/126

The reality is that even though it looks I can obtain a 3.8+ this year; my first year and second year are going to make my cGPA horrible. 

EC's: hospital volunteer ; work in a pharmacy; 4 student clubs; clinical research; worked 2 jobs; pharmacy (part time), another job full time, retirement home, school research, the usual. 

I am thinking of 4 main options.

Option #1 : Go into Pharmacy School: I know the market is dying. But I work in Pharmacy and I actually enjoy it; I would prefer med but wouldnt hate my life if I was a pharmacist. I also could apply to med later on in Pharmacy if I decide its unbearable. 

Issues- Dont have english prereq- waterloo and uoft require this  (have taken sociology; dont know if this would count) also dont have Kinetics 

Option #2: USDO

Issues- dont have English prereq 

Option #3: Go international (UK, Australia, Ireland) : might not be competitive for UK based on what I have heard

Issues- Finances

Option #4: Do a second undergrad, do that undergrad in another province and stay there for 3 years to get IP (thinking sask) 

Also to note for GPA: first year was 5 A's and 4 B's along with one D (which leads to such a low gpa- it really burns that one course does a lot of damage; of course the B's do not help either)