Premed 101 Forums

GPA CALCULATION UALBERTA MED SCHOOL???

Hi there! 

I'm a first year science student at the U of A and I'm hoping to go into medicine (although I'm currently freaking out)... 

On the Ualberta website, it says that they will drop the lowest year for students if that year isn't the only one that has 30 transferable credits (which is 10 courses for the whole year), meaning I'd need to be taking at least two years of 10 courses each if I wanted any of my years out of undergraduate to not by counted in cGPA. 

However, I'm having an absolutely shitty semester right now because I'm working part time and attending full time school and got stuck with some pretty bad professors. I'm talking I got a 60% on my chemistry 101 midterm and a 55% on my bio lab exam... 

So, if I were to take at least 2 courses in the spring and summer term (because that's counted as full time right?), would they drop my worst semester and replace it with the spring and summer courses for that same year? 

Like if I retook chemistry 101 and stats 151 in the spring and summer, would they count it towards my cGPA instead of my first semester of first year?? 

PLEASE SOMEBODY ANSWER because when I called they couldn't explain it properly and I am still a little confused. 

Perhaps I am mistaken, but I think you may be misunderstanding this a bit. Per the UofA website: 

“To calculate cGPA, we include all transferable post-secondary coursework to which a grade was assigned while the student was enrolled full-time (by UofA definition) during the academic year (September through April) or full-time during the Spring and Summer terms (May through August). For undergraduate students, to be considered full-time you must complete 18 transferable units of course weight (ucw) during the academic year (September through April) or 12 ucw during the Spring and Summer terms (May through August).