Premed 101 Forums

Key Extra Curriculars?

Hi

I am a first year kinesiology student in Canada and I plan to apply to medicine in 2 years.

For my application, I have quite a bit of volunteering but I was wondering if there are any key activities/volunteering I should do that would stand out/really boost my chances? Also how would I go about doing so?

Happy New Years by the way!

Thank you

Anything that you're really interested in and make you genuinely grow as a person would be great. 

A few pointers if you're a bit lost in terms of interests, though:

- Research. Always looked upon favourably by med schools, although some schools might have requirements that you publish something before you can even list it as a "research" experience. 

- Leadership roles. Not everyone can get this point but if you can get involved in some ways that can speak to your leadership and teamwork, that'd be great. 

- Possibly clinical shadowing, but this seems to be less of a prerequisite in Canada but will definitely benefit you if you want to speak about your experience dealing with patients. 

With all that said, I perused interview/admitted/regrets threads from many schools for a while and can tell you that the actitivities that will make the most difference are the ones that you can genuinely and effectively describe in your entries and/or essays. Some even went overseas to disadvantaged nations on missions without getting in, while others managed with just working and cookie-cutter volunteer roles. 

Best of luck in the new year!

Possibly clinical shadowing, but this seems to be less of a prerequisite in Canada but will definitely benefit you if you want to speak about your experience dealing with patients. 

This may be beneficial to you as an applicant exploring medicine, but is not at all whatsoever a prerequisite in Canada. In fact, some schools like UBC actively discourage applicants from shadowing due to patient privacy concerns.