Premed 101 Forums

127/125/127/129 with 3.75 cGPA...no chances?

I am a 4th year Canadian student at Western, with a cGPA of 3.75. 

I am planning to do my fifth year, so I can complete some prereqs to open more doors and increase my GPA. (3.6 first two years, 3.78 third year, and around 3.85 in fourth year)

What are my chances with 508 MCAT (127/125/127/129) for med school in Canada or US? 

I thought I could get into some mid-level med schools in US, but it seems like their cutoffs are a lot higher for Canadians or international students. 

Also, are there any chances for med schools in Canada with 125 CARS? 

Is there no chance at all in either way unless I retake my MCAT, since my GPA is almost done.

Thank you!!

Is that your OMSAS GPA? were those full time years?

Assuming yes, and full time years, Let's go coast to coast:

UBC: Your AQ is likely too low for an insane NAQ to compensate in the OOP pool. 

Prairie schools: Your MCAT is too low. 

UofM; Highly unlikely, your MCAT and GPA are far below OOP standards.

That leaves you with Ontario/McGill/Atlantic schools. 

For Ontario McMaster is likely out (you'd need an insane CASPer), Western (MCAT) and Ottawa (GPA) are out, UofT might work (what's your aGPA?), Queens may cut you for the 125, and NOSM is a mission school. 

McGill has fierce OOP competition, as do the Maritime schools. You're likely below the Memorial MCAT cutoffs.

So, if you haven't detected the theme, rewrite your MCAT and face CARS to open up more schools. For maximum opportunities you should only rewrite if you are in the 128+ CARS territory (ideally more to compensate for your cGPA at McMaster). 

55 minutes ago, MedicineLCS said:

Is that your OMSAS GPA? were those full time years?

Assuming yes, and full time years, Let's go coast to coast:

UBC: Your AQ is likely too low for an insane NAQ to compensate in the OOP pool. 

Prairie schools: Your MCAT is too low. 

UofM; Highly unlikely, your MCAT and GPA are far below OOP standards.