Premed 101 Forums

Canadian Applicant - What are my chances at US DO schools?

dtm5477

Hello, first time Canadian applicant wondering what are my chances for American DO schools. Also, the school that I am hoping to go to the most is MSUCOM. Would there be anyone from MSUCOM that I could DM? Or any Canadian student currently in a DO school? It would be greatly appreciated.

I've never written one of these before, so forgive me if this is too detailed.

1) Two Degrees: Bachelors of Science and Bachelors of Nursing

2) GPA: 

- Overall GPA: 3.86

- Science GPA: 3.95

- Non-Science GPA: 3.67

3) MCAT: 513 (129/125/130/129)

4) Work Experience/Extracirriculars/Volunteer

• 1.5 years of clinical placements

• 2 years research + 1 publication in a peer reviewed undergrad journal

• 9 months as a mental health support worker

• 1.5 years, founder and editor-in-chief of an undegraduate journal

• 8 months as "lead" student-clinical tutor for nursing students

• 1 year of multiple exec positions in student clubs.

• 8 months started a podcast for health sciences student

• 8 months teaching assistant.

• 1.5 year volunteering at a kids charity

• Planned 3 health care conferences/workshops for nursing and med students.

• Two awards for leadership and community service.

5) Weaknesses that im worried about for my application. What do you guys think of these?

• In my first undergrad degree, my 2nd and 3rd year were really bad. I failed a coure and didn't do full course loads. Was going through personal and family situations. My GPA increased considerably in all following years.

• My non-science GPA is a lot lower and my CARS score (125) really sucks.

• ZERO hours shadowing experiences.

• ZERO reference letters from MDs or DOs

• I have two dropped courses, not because I failed, but just withdrawn.

• I don't really have any long-term committments, I've only decided to try for med in the last year and a half, so I have nothing really longer than that.